Center for World Indigenous Studies
A Think Tank of Activist Scholars
Donate Amazon Smile

Who we are

We are a global community of activist scholars advancing the rights of indigenous peoples through the application of traditional knowledge.

Our mission: Activist scholars advancing the rights of indigenous peoples worldwide.


Board of Directors

Rudolph C. Rÿser, PhD.
Chair (Cree, Oneida [USA])

Kū Kahakalau, PhD.
(Hawaiian – [US-occupied territory])

John A. Schertow,
Treasurer (Mohawk [Canada])

Valeria Gheorghiu, JD
Director [USA]

Laura McCandlish Ryser,
Director [USA]

Amy Dejarlais, B.A., MA
(Secretary, Anishinabe [Canada])

Amelia Marchand, MA
(Colville Confederated Tribes [USA])

Core Staff

Rudolph C. Rÿser, PhD.
Executive Director

Leslie E. Korn, PhD, MPH, LMHC
Director Research and Education

Dina Gilio-Whitaker, MA
Policy Director, Senior Researcher

Aline Castañeda Cadena,
Executive Assistant to Dr. Ryser / FWJ Managing Editor

Fatima Mora,
Project Manager & Creative Director

Angel Estrada,
IT Specialist

Leslie Simonin Wilmer,
Social Media & Copy

Consult with us

We have a team of expert researchers, analysts, facilitators and trainers to respond to requests from tribal governments.

contact us